Twierdza Srebrna Góra


The Srebrna Góra Stronghold is a unique cultural heritage site in Europe and one of the most important attractions in Lower Silesia.

At the time of its construction (1765-1777) it was one of the most modern fortifications of its kind in Europe. The mighty Donjon, one of the most interesting fortifications of the modern era, was and still is a source of the greatest admiration. However, the fortress of Srebrna Gora is not just one building, but a whole complex of fortresses towering over the town. The fortress consists of up to six forts and several bastions. The core of the fortress is the bastion complex with the Donjon in the middle. The fortress had 151 fortress rooms (casemates) on three storeys. Huge stores, wells, an armoury, a chapel, a prison, a hospital, a bakery, a brewery, workshops and a powder magazine made the fort completely self-contained and self-sufficient. It housed 3,756 soldiers, huge stocks of ammunition, fuel and food. Nine wells were dug inside the fort, including the deepest one (approx. 80 m) on the premises of Fort Ostróg. The extent of the system and its location make it possible to classify the fortress as one of the largest mountain defence structures in Europe.   In 2002 the first Fortress Cultural Park in the country was established in Srebrna Góra, an organisation that has become a key actor in the renovation and development of fortifications. The establishment of the Silver Mountain Reconstruction Group – Infanterie – Regiment von Alvensleben (No. 33) in 2007 was also of great importance for the promotion of the fortress, as its costumes refer to the garrison which was stationed at the fortress during the Franco-Prussian War. Since then, tourists visiting the fortress are guided by guides – soldiers.     

Skip to content